Click here to Skip to main content
Defiance College - Baseball
Defiance College - Baseball mobile

Defiance College Baseball Camps

Head Coach

Derek Woodley
Head Coach

Derek Woodley will be in his 12th season in 2018 at the helm of the Yellow Jacket baseball program and is 2nd winningest coach in the history of the program. During that time, Defiance has seven of the top win totals in the program’s history.

In his first 11 years with the Yellow Jackets, Woodley has seen 58 DC players named to the All-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Team, while also placing 22 studentathletes on the HCAC All-Academic squad.

Woodley guided the Yellow Jackets to the programs third most wins (20) in school history and led Defiance to its first HCAC Tournament appearance in the HCAC-era with a 13-11 mark in conference play in 2013. The team finished with eight All-HCAC recognitions, a record for Defiance. Woodley was also recognized by the HCAC for the accomplishments of the 2013 season as he was selected as HCAC Co-Coach of the Year.

Woodley has 24 years of coaching experience at the collegiate level and most recently served as the assistant coach at Manchester University prior to accepting his current position at DC.

During his stint at Manchester, Woodley helped guide the Spartans to a pair of appearances in the HCAC Tournament in 2006 and 2007 in addition to earning a
berth in the Mideast Regional in 2006.

Prior to coaching at MU, Woodley spent 12 seasons at Bethany Lutheran College in Minnesota where he accumulated a 141-90 record, while winning three league
titles, a pair of regional championships and two NJCAA Region XIII Coach-of-the-Year honors during a six-year stint as the Vikings’ head coach. Woodley was also an assistant at Bethany Lutheran for six seasons before taking over the reins of the program and saw the team win four league titles and three regional crowns during that time.

Woodley worked as a part-time scout for the St. Louis Cardinals from 2000-2004 and served as a coach in the Northwoods League for the Mankato Mashers and Mankato Moondogs from 2000-2003.